Review: Girls Trip

Image result for girls trip poster
“This weekend is about us. We are here together. Today is the last day that we will ever be this young.”

 

Grab your girls and a bucket of popcorn and run, not walk, to see this movie. It’s a great time, and you’ll feel closer after experiencing it together.

Girls Trip is a movie about not only friendship but standing up for what you believe in, growing as a person, and having a hell of a good time. Regina Hall, Jada Pinkett Smith, Queen Latifah, and Tiffany Haddish star in this star-studded comedy about a group of girlfriends who reunite after five years apart. Life gets in the way, jobs get in the way, and family gets in the way, but in the end sometimes all you need is a weekend with your girls. Ryan Pierce (Hall) is a global icon. She’s a public figure, an author, and a self help queen. She has the picture perfect marriage, and makes sure nothing is ever out of place. Sasha (Latifah) is a celebrity gossip blogger. She’s struggling to make ends meet, but never stops chasing a lead. Lisa (Smith) is a divorced mother who now dedicates her life to her children and her job. Dina (Haddish) is a free spirit who speaks her mind and doesn’t care what anyone else thinks. She’s here for the party, and she isn’t leaving until its over.

The four girls reunite for a girls trip to New Orleans, which is really part of a weekend of work for Ryan. She invites them on the weekend getaway of a lifetime to the annual Essence Festival, where Ryan is a keynote speaker and guest appearance. While on the trip, the girls learn that Ryan’s husband (who’s scum bag name isn’t even worth mentioning in my review) is cheating on her with an Instagram model. The girls rally around Ryan while she faces the weekend, and the new girl, all at once. Throw in some partying with old college friends, and you have all the fun you can need.

This movie is about so much more than just a weekend of partying. I attended the movie with my sister and one of my best friends and felt closer to them than ever after. It makes you think of experiences you’ve had together, and puts you in the position to think, what would I do if this happened to you? It screams female power as loud as it can, and I respect the hell out of that. For once, we have a movie with four leading females where we don’t have backstabbing and cat fights (well, only a few), but we have genuine love and respect for each other. I have a close knit group of girlfriends, and this movie made me think of us.

Let’s talk about four outstanding female performances in this movie. First of all, Regina Hall is and always will be one of my favorite actresses. If I see her name associated with a movie, or her face on a trailer, I will be there for it. I think she is too underrated, and she deserves more recognition. I had no idea she could be as funny as she was in this, but she gave one heck of a performance. Queen Latifah is someone we’ve all grew up loving. She’s funny, fierce, and one woman I wouldn’t want on my bad side. She played the part of ambitious Sasha to perfection. Jada Pinkett Smith may have been my favorite performance in this film. She embodied Lisa. We all have a friend who is a little bit on the reserved side, but when she gets comfortable lets her freak flag fly high, and this was Jada Pinkett Smith in this movie. She had me rolling in the floor. Last but not least, let’s talk about Tiffany Haddish. Where in the world did she come from!? How did I not know her name as a regular in my brain? She had me quite literally screaming in the theater with laughter. I had tears, I spit popcorn out, I dropped candy, I can not even tell you how much I was dying at her performance. She deserves all of the awards, and a standing ovation. Not only were the four women great as a standalone performance, but they actually worked together. They seemed like true friends. They worked harmoniously together and it really truly felt like genuine friendship.

This is by far the most empowering movie I have seen this year, apart from Hidden Figures, and one of the best movies I’ve seen this year. Comedies try to do the same thing over and over again, with the same jokes. This felt fresh, new, and exciting. I’m not saying I’m asking for a sequel, but I am saying I would love to see these four women on screen together again, and soon.

Rating: 8.5 out of 10
Trailer: Girls Trip

Leave a Reply

