Review: The Mummy (2017)

Image result

“Whatever’ is in there has been safely hidden for two thousand years. This isn’t a tomb, it’s a prison.”

 

Before I even start this review, let me just say first and foremost that I am not a Tom Cruise fan in the slightest. I’m also a huge fan of the original Mummy series. I watched this movie with a completely open mind and gave Cruise and the revamp a chance.

Ahmanet is the sole heir to the throne of Egypt and to be her fathers successor. She is smart, a strong warrior, and embodies what a leader should be. Her father, the Pharoah, has a child with his second wife. A son. Almost suddenly, everything Ahmanet has ever hoped for or trained for is ripped away from her. Angry and determined to take back what she feels is rightfully hers, she sells her soul to an Egyptian god, a god of death. All she must do is kill her family, her father, his wife, and the new baby, then transfer the god into a human body. However, after she kills everyone, just as she is about to perform the final part of the ritual, she is caught, mummified, and buried alive.

In present day, two soldiers, Nick and Chris (Tom Cruise and Jake Johnson) are trying to find a lost treasure. They stumble upon a base of Iraqi soldiers, and have to call for back up. One of the bombs uncovers a hidden Egyptian tomb underneath the ground. Nick, Chris, and Jenny, an archaeologist, go down below to find out what is beneath the surface. Upon their entrance and investigation into the underground tomb, Jenny discovers that it is not a tomb, but in fact, a prison. Nick becomes entranced, seeing flashbacks of Ahmanet. Jenny wants to secure the area and get as much information about what is in the tomb out, while Chris argues with her that they have to go. In the midst of their argument, Nick cuts a rope which releases the tomb that has been submerged in mercury. Camel spiders emerge from everywhere, leaving Chris to be biten on the back of the neck. Nick begins seeing flashbacks again of Ahmanet, who thanks him and says that he is “chosen”.

On the plane ride back, Chris begins to act funny. He stabs their commander, and comes at Nick and Jenny and a couple of fellow soldiers, so Nick shoots him, killing him on the spot. Soon, the plane crashes, killing everyone but Jenny who Nick gave the only parachute on the plane to to save her life. In the morgue, Nick wakes up, confused at what has happened. He soon discovers that he is cursed, and Ahmanet will not stop until she completes the ritual she started two thousand years ago.

I will admit, seeing a new twist on the old story was a breath of fresh air. They tried something new, and it sort of worked. There was a twist at the ending that I appreciated. The new story was good, the ending was good, my biggest problem with this movie was the middle. I felt as though they tried to do to much. Things they tried to make scary came off as a little comical in my opinion. There was a lot of unnecessary things added in, that in my opinion ruined the movie. Sometimes less is more, and in this case I really believe if they had made the movie with a little more simplicity, it would have worked better.

Tom Cruise surprisingly did a good job as the lead character. I didn’t find myself cringing at anything he did, and I honestly found his performance enjoyable. Annabelle Wallis played Jenny, and I thoroughly enjoyed her performance as well. Sofia Boutella, an actress I don’t believe I had ever really paid attention to, excelled as Ahmanet. Some parts of it were a little cheesy, but I’ll chalk it up to bad writing or bad direction. The biggest surprise in casting to me was Jake Johnson as Chris. He didn’t have a huge role, and he was basically just there for comedic relief I think, but I was so surprised and so happy to see him on the screen. I love him. He also had some iffy moments, but I think that the writers were trying to add some of the humor from the original films into this one. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t.

Overall, I didn’t enjoy this movie. It wasn’t the acting, it wasn’t even the change of the story. It was how it was written, how it was directed. It had such potential to be a good movie. Less is more is the moral of the story to the directors, writers, producers, everyone involved in making this movie. I went in with an open mind, and it still just didn’t cut it for me.

 

Rating: 2.5 out of 10
Trailer: The Mummy (2017)

Leave a Reply

