Review: Before I Fall (Movie)

Image result

“If I was going to live the same day over and over, I wanted it to mean something… and not just to me.”

Directly after reading this book, I went and purchased the movie to watch. Typically, I won’t buy a movie unless I’ve seen it already, or just know I’ll like it. However, Redbox wasn’t releasing this particular movie until June 27th, and I just didn’t think I could wait that long. I took myself to Wal-Mart and bought this, along with a ton of cough medicine, Vicks, and cough drops. This cold/sinus infection/bronchitis has been kicking me in the tail!

When watching a movie where I’ve already read the books, I tend to compare the two way more than I should, which usually ends up with me getting angry and not enjoying the movie. However, this one stayed very true to the book in most aspects and I couldn’t have been more pleased. There were a few small, nit picky things that I got annoyed at, but overall, I was very impressed with how well they translated the story to the big screen.

Samantha Kingston is a popular girl at her high school. She’s a part of the most popular clique at the school, has the hottest boyfriend, and basically gets everything she wants because of her status. What more could you want, right? The movie starts out on February 12th, also known as Cupid Day at Thomas Jefferson High School. The girls will get the most roses, because the more popular you are, the more roses you get. The girls attend a party at an unpopular boy named Kent’s house that night. While there, a girl that the girls bully named Juliet Sykes arrives and causes a scene, embarrassing ring leader Lindsay. She in turn throws a drink in her face, which results in everyone else throwing drinks at her, pushing her around, and yelling harsh things at the young girl. She runs out of the party, the girls leave, and soon after leaving the party wreck their car and die.

The next morning, Sam wakes up, thinking everything from the night before was all a bad dream. She realizes, though, that it is the day before again, and she has to redo the day all over again. What she thinks is a day of deja-vu, turns out to be a repeating cycle of the same day over and over again. Sam gets a chance to make things right and change how things will end. But will she make the right choices? How long will she have to go through it? All of this is answered, plus more, in this film.

I’ll admit that replaying the same thing over and over again was a little harder to watch than to read. I didn’t get bored watching, but I did get a little distracted by small things throughout, until the pace picked back up around the middle point of the movie. The big important things from the book were all active in the movie as well, a few things out of place here and there, and only a couple of big changes that bothered me. I felt some things that were changed from the book took away from certain stories. However, they did a good job with how they changed it.

Zoey Deutch took on the main role as Sam Kingston. She embraced the character. She pulled of the mean girl, she pulled off the girl who wanted to make a difference. She made the movie. Halston Sage embodied Lindsay. When I say I don’t know if there has ever been a more accurate depiction from page to screen for a character I mean it. Halston was Lindsay. I was so glad to see Logan Miller take on the role of Kent. I loved him in The Walking Dead, and seeing him on my screen again made me happy. He was the awkward, childhood best friend to Sam and always tried to get her to do the right thing. The entire cast really was brilliant. I wasn’t thrilled with the look they gave Juliet, but Elena Kampouris did an excellent job with the character.

This is one of the better book-to-movie adaptations that I’ve seen in a while. If you’ve read the book, don’t worry! This isn’t a movie that will disappoint you, in my opinion. If you’ve never read the book, it’s still an enjoyable movie! Some things might not make as much sense, or seem like they move too fast, but it’s worth a watch. I definitely don’t regret my impulse buy!

Rating: 6.5 out of 10
Trailer: Before I Fall

Leave a Reply

