Review: Game of Fear

Game Of Fear

Glede Browne Kabongo
Released: February 18, 2016

Image result

“I attract trouble like a magnet, despite my best intentions. Perhaps because I attend an exclusive private school where the pressure is overwhelming, the secrets are dirty, and the games are wicked.”

Okay so typically, I don’t read a lot of YA novels anymore. Every so often, I’ll run across one that really catches my eye and I’ll sit down and read it. This was one of them. I stumbled on a website called NetGalley.com where you basically read books and give reviews on them, which is right up my alley. This was my first book from there and a good first choice! I finished in a day and I was wrapped up in the story to the point where I couldn’t wait to read what was next.

The story follows Abbie Cooper as she moves through her senior year at an exclusive private school. Her main goal is to get into an Ivy League college and start her journey to becoming a surgeon. She has two best friends, Callie and Frances, a picture-perfect family recovering from a scandal that almost ruined them, the hottest boy at school, Christian, pining for her attention, and of course a sworn enemy, Sidney. Seems like everything in her life is perfect, right?

Abbie has a secret in her past that no one knows about, something she is ashamed of and has kept hidden. One day, before class, while Christian is at her locker like every other morning, she notices a note in one of her books. “I know what you did. Hypocrite! Justice will be served, The Avenger.”  Abbie panics, someone knows her secret. Soon after, she gets a package in the mail with an incriminating picture in it. This person knows her darkest secret and could ruin her life. All the plans she had carefully planned and laid out for the future would be gone in the blink of an eye. Abbie is drawn into a game of cat and mouse, where she is the mouse and she must do whatever the mysterious blackmailer says. If she steps one toe out of line, the blackmailer will release the photo and ruin any chance Abbie has at a future.

Follow Abbie through all the twists and turns this story has to offer. The story sets everything up perfectly, and once you find out who the Avenger is, everything makes sense. Subtle details are placed throughout the story that lead to who the mysterious person blackmailing Abbie is, but I promise you won’t see it coming. The story itself is pretty good, the secret Abbie is keeping isn’t as big of a deal as I was expecting from the synopsis, but still something that could ruin a high-schoolers life. It is definitely nothing to be taken lightly. The writing style used by Kabongo was similar to how a teenage girl would think, which I think is what she was going for so very well done. Reading the story, I didn’t realize that this was in some forms a sequel to one of her other books, and you didn’t miss anything by not reading that one first. Luckily for us, Abbie’s story isn’t ending here either. We will continue on with her journey with a follow-up story.

Let’s talk about Abbie. In some ways, she reminded me of myself. She takes nothing from no one, she’s fearless. She says what she thinks, even though sometimes she shouldn’t, and never holds back what she truly feels. She is driven, hard on herself, what some consider a “goodie-goodie”, but she knows what she wants and will do whatever it takes to get it. Her friends, Callie and Frances, are great supporters and do what they can to help Abbie during the traumatizing period with the Avenger. Christian, the pretty, popular, womanizer turns out to be one of the best characters in the book. Sidney was the most complex written character. She seems like your typical mean girl at the surface, but she’s hiding so much under the layers. She isn’t as bad as she seems.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. It took me back to my high school days, although I was never blackmailed or really had any detrimental secrets that I was hiding. It was a nice book, and kudos to the author! I can’t wait to read the follow-up and continue to follow Abbie Cooper.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

