Review: The Fate of the Furious

Image result for the fate of the furious poster

“Dominic Toretto just turned on us.”

This is one of those franchises that true fans live and breathe for. I had a conversation with one of my best friend’s step brothers about it this weekend and he is one of those fans. The passion they have is unreal. I’ve seen every movie in this franchise on opening weekend, and this one was no different. The absence of Paul Walker is felt heavily, but it still gets the job done.

The beginning of the film shows Dom and Letty on their honeymoon and clearly enjoying life. They talk about the future, children, and really just life in general. All in beautiful tropical locations of course. Within the first ten minutes, before all of the honeymoon bliss, we get to see a classic race between Dom and a resident street race champion. The prize is the winners car. If you’re wondering, Dom wins, of course, but not before blowing up his cousins car.

As we all know, no honeymoon can be picture perfect, right? Soon we meet Charlize Theron’s character, Cipher. At first glance, she appears to be having car trouble, so Dom stops to help. However, it is soon revealed that she knows Dom and wants something from him. She hands over her phone to show Dom something that visibly upsets him. She drives off and leaves Dom looking unsettled. We flash to Hobbs, who is coaching his daughter’s soccer team. He has a special case and has to get his own team together, but if he goes down, they can’t cover him. He knows the perfect team, because who wouldn’t pick Dom and his posse? They complete the mission with ease, but as soon as it is done, Dom turns on Hobbs, running his car out of the road and leaving him to take the fall. This winds Hobbs up in prison and the rest of the team left blindsided and wondering what happened.

Hobbs comes face to face, literally, with Ian Shaw in prison where they exchange some humorous witty banter and eventually end up out of the cells they inhabited.  They are recruited by Mr. Nobody along with the rest of the crew to track down Cipher and Dom.

Without spoiling any of the action or any plot details that’s really all I can say about the plot. There are a couple of rather shocking moments, and I think I verbally screamed “yes” at one point near the end of the movie. These movies get me excited, even if they are a little ridiculous and over the top. I love the action, I love the over the top, unrealistic fight scenes, I love the cars, I love the racing, I love The Rock, seriously, I love it all. My only big complaint with this film was the lack of music. Usually, I can leave and have a soundtrack planned out in my head, however, with this one I felt like I was deprived of the normal kick-a songs during the run-time. I needed more music in the actual film.

The cast, as always, is glorious. Paul Walker will forever be a part of this series, and again we pay homage to his character. Without him, we also lost Jordana Brewster, which was a little heartbreaking. However, we gained Scott Eastwood which was a nice addition in the absence of Walker. Will he ever be Brian? No. But he did add a fresh face to the cast that I think we needed. If the series continues, I hope they keep him along for a ride. Scott Eastwood driving a fast car is sure to make every girl happy.

Overall, I respect this series. I respect the fans. Is it unrealistic? Sure. Is it over the top? Sure. Is it fun? It’s a hell of a good time. I will forever give this franchise my money.

Rating: 6 out of 10
Trailer: The Fate Of The Furious

Leave a Reply

