Review: Hidden Figures

Image result

“I plan on being an engineer at NASA, but I can’t do that without taking them classes at that all-white high school, and I can’t change the color of my skin. So I have no choice, but to be the first, which I can’t do without you, sir. Your honor, out of all the cases you gonna hear today, which one is gonna matter hundred years from now? Which one is gonna make you the first?”

I have only raves about this movie. I have waited a few days to write a review since I watched it mostly because I knew I would write a book if I didn’t. This movie touched me in so many ways, and it made me feel like I could touch the moon. Being a woman in the business world, even today there are struggles we face, I couldn’t imagine having been an African American woman in the 60’s trying to get to the top. From the cast to the movie itself, everything was stellar, and probably the best movie I will see all year.

The story centers around Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughn, and Mary Jackson; three African American women working at NASA, all with dreams of their own. Katherine is an amazing mathematician, Dorothy has dreams of being a supervisor, and Mary wants to be an engineer. Individually, they face seemingly impossible stepping stones in order to get to where they want to be. One by one, they start to see their dreams unfold before their eyes, all while watching the world change around them.

I found myself relating so much to Taraji P. Henson’s character so much. With my profound love for math, I know what it feels like to be a woman in a man’s world, the story touched me and made me have a different level of respect for this woman. Janelle Monae’s character Mary was a driven woman who would do whatever it took to reach her dream. She went before the court and had the most inspiring quote of the whole movie, which is the quote I used at the beginning of my review. We all know Octavia Simpson only plays characters who are as strong and beautiful as she is, her story touched me mostly because she never gave up, and she never let failure or a hard road dampen her dreams. These women are all someone I think we can aspire to be.

The rest of the cast included Kevin Costner, Kirsten Dunst, Jim Parsons, Glen Powell, and so many more amazing actors. They all give stellar performances. The entire cast couldn’t have been chosen better. The film stuck to the original story and the facts very well, which I appreciated. It’s always good to enjoy a film, and learn a little bit about history as well. There’s just something about a movie that makes you feel good and knowing that it’s all true. It gives you hope that the world isn’t as bad as you think it is.

I know I didn’t go too deep into the story with this one, but its all facts. You can read the book, you can look it up. Just know that this movie will make you laugh, it will make you cry, it will make you feel good, and it will give you hope. It’s a movie you can take the whole family to. I promise you won’t regret seeing this, and even if you have to pat $15, its worth it. If for nothing else, the acting is the best you’ll see in a film all year.

Rating: 9 out of 10
Trailer: Hidden Figures

Leave a Reply

