Top 10: Anticipated Movies of 2017

My favorite part of going to the movies is the previews. Most people don’t care to be late because who wants to sit through thirty minutes of previews, right? ME. I do. I want to see every trailer that I can so I know what to be excited about for the year. This year, it looks like we may be in for a treat at the movies. Check out the 10 I’m most excited about right now!

Guardians of The Galaxy Vol. II
Image result
Release Date: May 5, 2017

I watched the first Guardians of the Galaxy on a whim when I was desperate to see a movie amidst a crazy week at school. I had heard only wonderful things about it, but I was still skeptical. The trailer didn’t scream at me to go watch it. But I am so glad I did. I fell in love. I laughed, cried, and laughed some more. Chris Pratt is genius for the role. I am beyond excited for the second one, and the trailer shows great promise for more laughs and a great time.

Insidious Chapter 4
Unfortunately there’s no official poster for this title yet.
Release Date: October 20, 2017

Anything James Wan or Jason Blum touch is a golden masterpiece. You don’t see a lot of genuinely good horror films anymore, but I feel like I’m always on the edge of my seat with anything these guys do. The Insidious series is one that has made me uncomfortable and honestly can terrify me. Which is a good thing, because nothing scares me. I’m excited to head back into The Further once again, and I hope they can keep up the momentum with this one!

The Dark Tower

Release Date: July 28, 2017

I love Stephen King. Anything he writes, I read. I don’t know as much about The Dark Tower series as I would like, but just from looking at the cast I cannot wait to see this. Idris Elba is a star, and a western/fantasy is such a good mix. It’s always good fun. Plus with Nikolaj Arcel behind the wheel, I have the utmost faith in this project.

Dunkirk
Image result
Release Date: July 21, 2017

I love a good war movie. I need about one a year, and with my mind still stuck on Hacksaw Ridge, I am even more excited about this one. I’m crossing my fingers that Harry Styles can act, because the twelve year old girl in my heart loves him.

Spider-Man: Homecoming
Image result

Release Date: July 7, 2017

Excuse me while I scream. My favorite superhero is Spider-Man. I am so excited to see another reboot on this, and I hope this one sticks. I had my heart torn out when they only made the two movies with Andrew Garfield. I think Tom Holland can step up and be the Spider-Man that we’ve all been waiting for. My only issue with this film is that I feel like they will focus too much on Iron Man’s influence. Just let spidey be spidey. Fingers crossed this is as good as I hope it will be!

Wonder Woman

Release Date: June 2, 2017

Gal Gadot won my heart in B vs S. She was the perfect Wonder Woman. I’m glad she’s getting her own film, and I’m glad we get to see more of her background and get to see her being even more of a bad-a.

IT
Image result for it 2017 poster

Release Date: September 8, 2017

I said earlier I love anything Stephen King touches. This is one of my favorite Stephen King projects of all time. I am irrationally afraid of clowns, and this movie is probably one of the reasons I am. I watched the original for the first time when I was in my first year of college, and slept on a friend of mines couch for about a week. Shower drains scared me, gutters scared me, literally everything scared me after this movie. Bill Skarsgård will be fantastic in this film, and from the promotional photos we’ve already seen, I can tell it’s going to be a wild ride.

Beauty and the Beast
Image result
Release Date: March 17, 2017

Take one of my favorite childhood films and add one of my favorite actresses to it and you get this masterpiece. I don’t even have to see the movie to know how fantastic this is going to be. Emma Watson as Belle is more fitting than a nice pair of jeans. The trailers look beautiful, and I can’t wait to see this magical story come to life.

Get Out
Image result

Release Date: February 24, 2017

This is one of those movies that I have to avoid watching the trailer because I will get so excited to see it that it bothers me. Another Jason Blum produced film, and Jordan Peele has his hands on it too. I think to say the least it’s going to be weird and interesting, and I honestly cannot wait to see it.

A Cure For Wellness

Release Date: February 17, 2017

THIS. I cannot wait to see this film. I haven’t been this excited for a movie to be released in a while.This gives me all sorts of feelings. It reminds me of season two American Horror Story. It reminds me of Shutter Island. It gives me those good feelings in my stomach when you see a movie trailer that you really can’t wait to see. I hope this doesn’t disappoint me. With Gore Verbinski behind it, I have a feeling it is going to be all I hoped for.

Leave a Reply

