Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

JK Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany

Released July 31, 2016

Image result for harry potter and the cursed child book poster

Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond reach of humankind, beyond reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to though you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.

Harry Potter. The epitome of my childhood, and my adulthood. If there was ever a fictional world I could make a reality it would be this one. I remember my sister reading the first and second books to me when I was just a child and we were sharing a bedroom still. She would read them to me before bed every night. I remember being emotionally attached to the story and the characters. Not only were these a great source of reading and entertainment, they taught me life lessons. I felt like I grew up with them, and as a result this extravagant fictional world became a part of my life, a part of my family.

When I heard about the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child play, I was very excited. A new story set in the same world I grew up loving. We would get to see the lives of the children of the characters that made an impact on me, characters I felt like I was friends with. Imagine my disappointment when I realized the play would only be overseas. Then, they released the script in a book format. As an adult with a full time job, it was a little harder for me to run out and get the book and read it in a day like I did growing up, but I got it for Christmas and finished it in a matter of hours. And when I got to the end, all I could think was, “I want more”.

In this novel, we get to meet Harry and Ginny’s three children, James, Albus, and Lily Potter, Ron and Hermoine’s two children, Rose and Hugo, and Draco and Asortia’s son, Scorpius. The book starts out on Albus and Rose’s first year at Hogwarts. Albus is nervous, and Rose is excited. Albus fears that he will get placed in the wrong house, a fear his own father had many years ago, and Rose is more excited about what year she will be a quidditch champion–she definitely has the same driver as her mother. As Albus and Rose board the train, she notes that who they sit with on the first day is crucial, after all, that’s how their parents became friends. They stumble across a young boy sitting by himself, and soon learn that it is Draco’s son Scorpius, rumored to be the actual son of Voldemort. Rose thinks befriending him would be a terrible decision and urges Albus to leave, but he stays, making his first friend.

Being Harry Potter’s son proves to be more of a burden than a gift for Albus, he doesn’t want to live up to the name of his father, he doesn’t like the pressure. The sorting hat sorts him into Slytherin and he doesn’t object, which infuriates Rose. But he gets to be with his first friend. We see glimpses of each year for Albus, and it doesn’t get happier. He becomes more and more closed off, and gets more anger for his father and his family name than before. Amos Diggory has been coming around to Harry, blaming him for Cedric’s death all those years ago, but rumor has it there is a time turner at the Ministry, time turners were said to all have been destroyed years ago. But Amos wants the one that is supposedly at the Ministry to go back and save his son, because he didn’t deserve to die, Harry did. Albus overhears the conversation, and while doing so meets Delphi, Amos’s niece she tells us. Albus hatches a plan to steal the time turner and go back in time to make things right. But as we all know, you can’t go back in time and change something without messing up the future.

Without giving away any spoilers, which I will if I keep writing because I cannot control myself with Harry Potter, I will stop here. This book is a quick and easy read. It is divided into four acts, and takes you to the past, present, and the future. You will fall in love with new characters, and you will be reunited with the characters you fell in love with all those years ago. As with any Harry Potter book, we know that there will be love, laughter, and death, all of which are present in this as well.

If you haven’t read this already, please go buy it. A world so magical deserves all of the attention in the world. I can’t describe how much love I have for this series, and for this new book well. You might even get to see characters you thought you would never see again.

When someone asks me if I still love Harry Potter, my response will always be:

After all this time? Always.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

