Review: The Silent Girls

The Silent Girls

Eric Rickstad
Released Nov. 25, 2014

Monsters did exist….

Image result for the silent girls

Usually, when I read a book it only takes me a couple of days to finish it. With this one, however, I started it around the holidays when I was crazy busy, so it took me a little while longer to finish. I decided last night I was going to finish it before bed, and let me say I am so glad I did. A compelling story that will leave you guessing at every corner and question everything. I finished the last 150 pages in an hour, that’s how good it is.

The opener to this book is chilling, uncomfortable, and will make you think twice about opening your door to children on Halloween.When I read those first pages I remember thinking, what have I gotten myself into? This is crazy. It set the mood for the story, and I loved it. I told my family, I told my best friend at the gym, I was telling everyone about that those first couple of pages. I couldn’t wait to see how it tied into the rest of the story, The next few chapters introduce you to Frank Rath, a retired detective raising a single daughter alone. He now works as a sort of freelance private investigator while his daughter is off in college. He thought he was living the easy life, until his old friend Harland Grout calls him about an abandoned sixteen year old girls car found on the side of the road. From then he’s pulled into a case that he can’t seem to get away from. One that makes him face the darkest of humans. One that almost destroys his family. And one that is so complex, everyone seems like they could be a suspect.

Compelling characters are one of the best things about this chilling novel. Frank Rath is a character you can trust, relate to, and understand. Rickstad does a great job of writing characters that seem like real people. They don’t all have a picture perfect life, a fault some writers seem to think characters need. Rath is complex, smart, troubled, and can’t seem to stay away from the job he left to protect his daughter. He is rough around the edges, he doesn’t always do everything by the book, but he gets the job done nonetheless.  Harland Grout is somewhat of a different character; he is caring, tough, and has issues most people can relate to as well. He struggles with not always being right, and struggles taking criticism well. Grout has a big heart, quite possibly the biggest of all the characters, and you see more of a character development and understand why he is the way he is in the last half of the book. And last but not least, Sonja Test. A strong female character who will do nothing short of the best she can. You don’t always see a female character written so well in a book full of male leads, but Rickstad done an excellent job with Sonja. I can imagine her in my head, what she looks like, what she does on the weekends. Aside from the main characters, the minor characters aren’t given the shaft–most everyone is written to where you understand them.

Reading those first pages, you think you know what is going to happen, you think you know what is going on. But you don’t. The whole book makes you ride the line between good and evil, right and wrong. It makes you question everything you’ve read. Are people really evil, or are they doing what they think is best for the greater good? It takes you down a dark road, and you won’t see it coming.

The final word of this novel has left me shaken, wanting more, and unable to sleep. It will leave you breathless and wanting more.

Do yourself a favor, pick this up at your local Books-A-Million or Barnes and Noble. You won’t regret it.

 

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

