Top 10 Movies of 2016

2016 was a great year for movies. We had superhero movies galore, some great comedies, movies that kept you on the edge of your seat, and quite possibly one of the best original horror movies of all time. I didn’t get to see all the films I would have liked to this year(The Nice Guys, Snowden, Jackie, Nocturnal Animals), but I plan to still watch them and review the ones I didn’t get to see. Read below to see my list of the top 10 best movies of 2016!

10. The Shallows: I love a good shark movie. I also love a good Blake Lively film. This film was not only beautifully shot, but had a great standalone performance by Lively, and we also can’t forget Steven Seagull. If you haven’t seen this and you love a shark movie, you MUST see it. I’m so glad that it was as well reviewed as I thought it was.

My score: 7 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 78%
Image result for the shallows poster

Trailer: The Shallows

9. Captain America: Civil War: Everyone enjoys seeing superhero movies, especially when they’re jam packed with our favorites. Civil War turned out to be my favorite Captain America film to date. It had a perfect balance of everything a superhero film needs: fighting, love, and an introduction to a new villain. If you had given up on Captain America after Winter Soldier, which I happened to love as well, then you have to give it another chance and check out Civil War. You will not be disappointed.

My score: 7.5 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 90%
Image result for captain america civil war poster

Trailer: Captain America: Civil War

8. Hush: Imagine: You live alone in a  secluded area, only one neighbor that doesn’t even live within sight,  you’re deaf, and someone is trying to get in your home. That is the terror that Maddie goes through in this 87 minute thriller. This film will leave you on the edge of your seat and make you thankful that you(hopefully) have all of your senses. Mike Flanagan redeemed himself from Oculus with this cat-and-mouse home invasion thriller. Watch this, but don’t watch it alone. And make sure all the doors are locked. And if you live in a secluded area like I do with no neighbors, maybe watch it at a friends’ house.

My score: 7.5 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 100%
Image result for hush movie poster

Trailer:Hush

7. Arrival: Aliens, aliens, aliens. You’ll come to realize I LOVE alien movies. Arrival had a different premise than most alien films you’ve seen. When I first saw this film, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. I felt like Amy Adams gave a pretty bland performance and I didn’t know if I really LOVED it. However, after I found myself raving about it to my friends and family I realized I actually loved it. It was different, beautifully shot, and Adams/Renner were a perfect duo. Please, give this your attention. If aliens ever invade, I hope they are similar to this film.

My score: 8 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 94%
Image result for arrival movie poster

Trailer: Arrival

6. 10 Cloverfield Lane: An uncomfortable, chilling thriller that exceeds expectations and squashes its predecessor. This is a film that you need to see without anyone telling you anything about it. It was probably my favorite sci-fi thriller of the year. John Goodman’s performance will leave you with an unsettling feeling in your stomach and Mary Elizabeth Winstead will give you the female lead you have been longing for all year. Plus, aliens. Watch this movie.

My score: 8 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 90%
Image result for 10 cloverfield lane poster

Trailer:10 Cloverfield Lane

5. Suicide Squad: I don’t know that I would call this a “superhero” film, but it was a super movie. With all the mixed reviews out there, you either love it or hate it. I loved it. Actors that embraced their roles one-hundred percent, villains that you can love, Viola Davis, and a superb soundtrack. Sure, some of the special effects with the Enchantress could have been better, but what was lacking there was made up for with Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn. Jared Leto is probably the next best Joker, following Heath Ledger. The critics drug this through the mud, but I say give it a shot. Definitely worth it in my opinion!

My score: 8.5 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 26%

Trailer: Suicide Squad

4. Deadpool: This was the year for superhero movies, and this one took the lead as my favorite of the year. It was raunchy, crazy fun and I loved every minute of it. No one except Ryan Reynolds could have done the job, and it helped that he was so passionate about the project. If you can handle the bad language and the violence you’ll love this movie as much as I did.

My score: 8.5 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 84%

Trailer: Deadpool

3. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story: Bear with me, I’ve never seen ANY other Star Wars film. I’ve always been more of a Trekkie myself, but I went on a whim with my sister and her husband. It was honestly very good. My nephew liked it more than I did, but after seeing this one, I think I’ll have to check out the other ones.

My score: 9 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 85%
Image result

2. Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them: If you’ve read my about me, you know I’m an avid Harry Potter fan, quite possibly the biggest fan out there. A movie set in the Harry Potter world with a fellow Hufflepuff was just what I needed after years of an absence of a new Harry Potter movie. Had it not been for the next movie on the list, this would have won for the best film of the year for me.

My score: 9.5 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 73%
Image result


1. Don’t Breathe: Yes, yes, and yes. I have so many words for this movie. It gave me chills, it made me hold my breath, it made the villain seem like the victim and the victim seem like the villain, it had twists, it had some really weird stuff going on. Most of all, it was the perfect horror film in what has seemed like a horror movie drought. I have recommended this movie to everyone I talk to. It is by far the best movie of 2016 in my opinion. I think that it will stay in my mind as the best horror film for a long time. Go see this movie, and don’t eat turkey while you’re doing it. Trust me.

My score: 10 out of 10
Rotten Tomatoes: 87%

Trailer: Don’t Breathe

 

Honorable Mentions:
Hacksaw Ridge
The Conjuring 2
The Forest

Leave a Reply

